I’m a pout-pout fish with a pout-pout face.

This morning’s story time was nice! My story time crowds have shrunk significantly over the summer. I used to get between 20-30 children at my story time during the school year and into the early summer, but these last few weeks I’ve been getting less than 10. At first, I was worried about this, thinking that I didn’t really know how to work with such a small group. I had a few issues with attention spans over the last few weeks, so I’ve been adding more actions and more movement activities to try to keep their focus. But, I’ve also been able to actually get through three stories. I used to only try to get through two, because it took so long for the 25 children to make their crafts after story time ended that I would often have parents and caregivers still there long after the program was supposed to be over. But, today I had 18 people total, and about half were kids. And today turned out to be one of my favorite story times! I felt like the kids were interested in all the books, they were excited to sing the songs and do the movement activities I had planned. It was great! I’m definitely warming up to these smaller groups, now.

I know that some children’s librarians don’t use themes for their story times, but I still find it helps me to narrow down my book selection and songs and movement activities if I have a topic. Sometimes it’s not very easy to think of a topic and I’ve had some topics with some real duds, book-wise. But today’s theme was Back to School, because the city’s public schools begin tomorrow. Several of my families are enrolling their kids in preschool for the first time and I have one family who is starting homeschooling tomorrow, so it was a topic that the kids were familiar with and thinking about on their own.

I chose the theme not only for its timeliness, but also the GREAT selection of books from which to choose. I literally had dozens of books on the subject just in my branch library. There were three books I read for the kids today, but one specifically that I loved and that they seemed to like, so I thought I’d give it a shout-out on this humble blog. I love the Pout-Pout Fish and there’s a book about the Pout-Pout Fish going to school.

pout pout

Pout-Pout goes to school and he doesn’t like it at all. He feels like he can’t learn the things he’s supposed to learn, he’s a “fish out of water” (excuse the pun), and he decides to give up. He starts to leave and his teacher comes and finds him and tells him that he is smart and he can do it and he does belong at school. Also, she tells him that he’s not expected to know things that he hasn’t yet learned. It was cute and the kids seemed to like it, too. It really kept their attention. I don’t know how many of the kids are anxious about starting school (even if it’s a year or two away), but I think most people at some point in their lives feel a little nervous about starting new things. It’s a great book for anybody starting any new endeavor, I think. A Pout-Pout Fish book is always a good idea!

Leave a Reply

